What are the 5 best Schengen countries

Which countries are Schengen countries?

Schengen countries 2020: List of Schengen countries

Turkey and Ukraine are not members of the Schengen area, any more than they are members of the EU. The United Kingdom of Great Britain has also not been an EU or Schengen country since the beginning of 2020. You can use our list to check whether the countries you are planning to travel to belong to the Schengen area.

Special case: territories and overseas areas that do not belong to the Schengen area

Although the Canary Islands, Madeira and the Azores are special members of the EU and Schengen members, the Schengen area does not automatically extend to all overseas territories and administered territories. Certain areas that are bound to Schengen countries use this Schengen Agreement not to. In order to travel to these areas as a foreigner, it is necessary to apply for a special visa in the country of which they belong.

This regulation affects the following regions:

1. Greenland and the Faroe Islands

2. Overseas Territories of France (DOM-TOM): Guadeloupe, Martinique, French Guiana, Réunion, Mayotte, Saint-Pierre and Miquelon, Saint Barthélemy, Saint Martin, Wallis and Futuna, French Polynesia, New Caledonia.

3rd Monks' Republic of Mount Athos (Greece)

4.Svalbard (Norway)

5.Aruba, Curaçao, Sint Maarten and the Caribbean Netherlands (Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba)

Special case: European micro-states

Although the European micro-states Monaco, San Marino and Vatican City are not part of the Schengen area, the borders are open and freely passable. For entry into the Principality of Andorra However, the situation is different. You cannot travel to the Schengen countries with an Andorran residence permit. Border controls continue to exist on the Spanish and French sides. Since Andorra does not belong to the EU and not to the Schengen zone, Schengen visa holders need a visa with a validity for multiple entries or exits to enter Andorra and to leave Andorra.

Which EU countries are not Schengen countries?

In our list you will find the EU countries that have not yet signed the Schengen Agreement. However, some of these countries are already partially implementing the Schengen Agreement without being an official Schengen country:

1. Bulgaria (EU country, but not a Schengen country): Bulgaria decided on January 31, 2012 to allow holders of valid EU visas (Schengen visas of category C and A as well as national visas of category D) to enter the country without a visa.

2. Ireland (EU country, but not a Schengen country): Ireland is an EU member but only implements some Schengen regulations. Ireland has not abolished border controls, so a separate Ireland visa is required in certain cases.

3. Croatia (EU country, but not a Schengen country): With the decision of 01/01/2014, all foreigners who have a valid EU visa (Schengen visa of category C and national visas of category D) do not need a separate visa for Croatia.

4. Romania (EU country, but not a Schengen country): According to the Romanian embassy, ​​holders of a valid two or multiple Schengen visa or with a residence permit in the Schengen states can travel to Romania without a visa.

5. Cyprus (EU member state, but not a Schengen member state): A separate visa for Cyprus is required depending on the case.

Note: Croatia, Bulgaria and Romania are working on the requirements for membership in the Schengen area and are therefore likely to become Schengen countries at some point.

Special case Great Britain

Great Britain belonged to it before it left the EU on January 31, 2020 not to the Schengen countries. For third-country nationals who do not have a visa waiver for the United Kingdom, not much has changed since Brexit. As always, you must apply for a UK visa, even if you already have a Schengen visa.

How the British will travel to the Schengen countries in the future will be defined in the course of the Brexit negotiations with the European Union. Either British citizens will also have to apply for a visa for the Schengen states in the future or they will enjoy a special status.

Which visa for the Schengen countries?

All citizens of the Schengen countries, the EU countries and the EFTA countries can move freely within the EU and the Schengen area without a visa. With a Schengen visa, citizens of third countries can also travel within the 26 states of the Schengen area without passport controls.

There are different types of visas to travel to the Schengen countries:

1. Schengen visa for a short stay: The Schengen Visa C is valid for a stay of up to 90 days (within 180 days) in the countries of the Schengen area.

2. National long-stay visa: If you work or want to stay in a Schengen country for more than 90 days, you must apply for a national visa, which you can also use to travel to all other Schengen countries for 90 days in a period of 180 days (provided there are no country restrictions Indicated on your visa).

3. Airport transit visa: if you are not one of the nations that can benefit from the so-called “transit privilege”, you must apply for a Schengen visa A for airport transit. If you stopover in a Schengen country and fly on to a third country, you must apply for an airport transit visa.

4. Land transit visa: Originally issued as Schengen Visa B, today this transit visa is only issued as Schengen Visa C with the note “Transit”. With a transit visa, you can travel through a Schengen country by land in five days to travel to a third country.

Which international travel insurance should I choose for traveling to the Schengen countries?

To apply for a Schengen visa, you must have travel health insurance for the Schengen area. It has to meet certain criteria. But even as a visa-exempt traveler from the USA, Canada, Japan and many other countries, travel insurance for Europe is a sensible investment to prevent high costs in the event of an accident or illness.

The AXA Schengen insurance Covers all Schengen countries and also all countries of the European Union and is accepted by all diplomatic missions abroad as an insurance policy for Schengen visas. AXA has The right travel insurance for every purpose: whether for tourists, visitors, business travelers, short-term travelers or long-term visitors to the Schengen countries. With the low-cost variant, you are well insured for your trip to Europe from as little as EUR 0.99 per day.

These articles might also interest you

Does Turkey belong to the Schengen area?

FAQ: Schengen countries

Who is in Schengen?

The Schengen area consists of the EU countries Belgium, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Portugal, Sweden, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Czech Republic, Hungary and the non-EU countries Iceland, Norway, Switzerland and Liechtenstein.

Which EU countries are not in Schengen?

The EU states Ireland Bulgaria Croatia Romania and Cyprus are not or not yet Schengen countries.

Why are the countries called Schengen countries?

The Schengen countries have all signed the Schengen Agreement. The Schengen Agreement enables the free movement of persons without passport controls within the member countries. The contract was first signed by the founding members in 1985 in Schengen, Luxembourg. The place Schengen thus gave its name to the country agreement.